Home > Feb '10 Blog > Love Is The Greatest

Love Is The Greatest

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophesy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Prophesy and speaking in unknown languages and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever! Our knowledge is partial and incomplete, and even the gift of prophecy reveals only part of the whole picture! But when full understanding comes, these partial things will become useless.

When I was a child, I spoke, thought, and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things. Now we see things imperfectly as in a cloudy mirror, but then we will see everything in perfect clarity. All that I know is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God knows me completely.

Three things will last forever-faith, hope, and love-and the greatest of these is love. -1 Corinthians 13:1-13

*How you can relate this passage to your life and fitness;

Our mind, body, and spirit endure a lot of abuse throughout the days with the challenges of life that we face. Examples such as stress, pollution, negative thoughts & beliefs, life, death, suffering, abuse in the form of alcohol or other substances.

The list can go on forever, and a way to see clearly amongst all of these things that cloud our feelings, emotions and beliefs seems impossible. It all starts with loving yourself in a non-selfish way. Examples such as listening to your body when it’s sick or tired. Granted, maybe you can’t stop working, but you can provide your body the proper nutrients and vitamins so that it can continue if you cannot step away from your tasks. Stay away from negative influences that will distract you from your priorities. Listen to music that will inspire you and motivate you to continue to endure. When your work is done, even if you cannot sleep, rest your eyes and mind, by writing to yourself of what you are most grateful for, this can put your mind at a far greater state of peace than just tossing and turning about tomorrow’s worries. When you wake up in the morning, start your day by saying to yourself “thank you” of what you wrote down the night before.

Give it time, and watch how loving yourself in a non-selfish way will spread in every other activity that you partake in. It’s like watching a beautiful flower grow right in front of your eyes. It will not be easy, but it will be beautiful. Know that I write these words not to try to convert you, but to help maintain a balance in fitness of the spirit, mind & body.  Enjoy today’s blog!

-III

Categories: Feb '10 Blog Tags: , , , , ,
  1. Erin
    February 15, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Well said, Jose

    I’ve always admired your vision and pursuit of tying all elements of the mind, body, and soul together. The balance that, I personally believe, everyone is in search of in some way or another. Many negate one or two, if not all three areas. Thank you for everything and keep up the great work!

    Con amor,
    Erin

    • February 15, 2010 at 2:03 am

      Erin,

      Thank you for taking the time to reply to my blog post. Your compliment is appreciated, and I accept it humbly. All three do have to work together, and it’s not easy! I have seen many wise people who were unhealthy with their temple, (aka, their body). I have also seen many smart people who have taken advantage of many others, (corruption of the mind), and finally, I have seen many fit people that just love themselves too much, (aka narcissistic). No one person is better than the other. We all have the capability to love others and be loved by others. I’m glad to be your friend, and share of these things with you and others.

      Con amor tambien,

      Jose

  2. February 15, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Has anyone found a good treadmill for home use? I want to get in shape again after getting very flabby this past year. I want a treadmill that gives me a good workout, and one that will last a long time. Please let me know your experiences.

    • February 21, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      Hi Tom,

      The treadmill’s that I have seen that last a long time, and are built very well are treadmill’s built by Woodway. You can checkout their site below. Good luck, and let me know if you have any other questions. You can reach me at jose@trinitylifestyle.com
      http://www.woodway.com/

  3. February 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Jose,

    Thanks for your blog. Love the expression, “Loving yourself in an unselfish way”

    All the best to you,

    Dan

  4. Nick
    March 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Jose! Great article and thanks for having me read it. Going to be prepared for our meeting Saturday!! Thanks again and talk to you soon 🙂

    • March 4, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Nick! Thank you for reading the post. I’m looking forward to our meeting as well!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

