Home > Feb '10 Blog > Sacrifice = Compromise

Sacrifice = Compromise

Sacrifice-noun: The surrender or destruction of something prized or desirable for the sake of something considered as having a higher or more pressing claim.

Compromise-noun: A settlement of differences by mutual concessions; an agreement reached by adjustment of conflicting or opposing claims, principles, etc. 

In order to make a sacrifice, you must be willing to make a compromise. A sacrifice and a compromise are not the same meaning, but you cannot do one without the other. Someone would say: “But Jose, 1+1=2.”  This is true, but what I’m sharing with you is that the word “compromise” is the “1+1,” and the word sacrifice is the “2.”  Everything you choose in life will require of you to make some sort of a sacrifice, that will simultaneously require of you to compromise your old ways of believing, thinking, and living, that you were once comfortable with. If you try to set any goals in your life, you name it; weight loss, weight gain, relationship, marriage, having a child, new job, quitting a job, etc, these all will require for you to make a compromise, and sacrifice your old ways of living in exchange for a new way of living. Want to change the way that you live, think, believe, and view life? Make a compromise with your “old self” and “current self,” that you both will make the sacrifice to endure the hardships together to create your “new self” .

Click on the link to see a video example: Sacrifice = Compromise

* After watching the video, which person would you believe?

-III

  1. Lisemberg Gálvez
    February 21, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Sacrifice=Compromise…am impressed! ¨Make a compromise with your “old self” and “current self,” that you both will make the sacrifice to endure the hardships together to create your “new self” .¨ That´s how things need to be, in order for you to be on control of your actions. Thumbs up my friend!

    • February 21, 2010 at 11:10 pm

      Thank you for your reply! I really like your reflection of how it can also help maintain control, (maybe we can also add awareness?), of one’s actions.

  2. Lucy
    February 22, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Yeap, I’ve also been trying to change my old way of living but it’s never easy, though.

    I’m gonna take a photograph of my body in 7 days. These days I only eat chicken breast and vegetables without any carbs and have to cut water out of my diet for 2 to 3 days. It’s very hard for me to control myself. May I don’t want to sacrifice and compromise with my old self for my goal…..
    Your article motivates me a lot. Thank u!

    • February 22, 2010 at 3:03 am

      Replying all the way from Seoul, South Korea!

      Hello Lucy!

      Thank you for taking the time to reply. Changing our ways of living, thinking, and believing are actually what we spend our entire life doing. The relationships that we make with people is how we learn how to live and love. I wish you luck with your sacrifice, and look forward to your pictures of your results.

  3. February 25, 2010 at 1:12 am

    that is so very true what the blog states.

    “Make a compromise with your “old self” and “current self,” that you both will make the sacrifice to endure the hardships together to create your “new self” .

    last year I lost my job and vehicle in an accident all in the same way not related reasons.That was a huge eye opener for me and I’ve been unemployed for about 7 months relaying on saving and unemployment checks.

    I never consider anything that extreme and life changing happen to me but it did.Broke up with my boyfriend of 2 years months before the accident and job loss.I cried and went through a deep depression cause my self worth was so low.Without work I felt useless and no support sadden.

    But i finally realize how my job was holding me back from pursuing my dreams and furthering my education.The break up didn’t phase me that jerk had it coming.Since then I’ve bee more focus than ever on my future and where I want to go in life.I decided to start focusing on schooling and getting myself started.Also I started to diet and change my eating habits.

    I started this two weeks ago with changing my proportions sizes,eating more food containing potassium,iron,protein,omega 3,fiber, and drinking more water verse snack eating.Now I’m searching for exercise routines fitted for someone like me and started walking again.I’ve been over weight all my life and struggle with sweets but I’m old enough to be more responsible for my health.All this is something I wouldn’t have done in the past but I needed to change my ways.

    I sacrifice a lot but gain so much more insight on myself.So this post really speaks to me.

    • February 25, 2010 at 1:39 am

      Thank you for taking your time to share your testimony. I admire your perseverance! If you ever have any questions about exercise routines, foods, etc. Please feel free to email at anytime. It’s important to surround ourselves with good people!

      -Jose

  4. February 25, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Jose,

    It took me a minute to grasp your thinking… then I was able to connect your thoughts.

    Am I connecting the dots when I say .. NO enables Yes and then of course Yes means saying NO.

    Saying Yes to some things means saying no to others.
    Saying No to some things enables (frees me) to say yes to other things.

    I wish you the best.

    Leadership Freak
    Dan Rockwell

    • February 25, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      Mr. Rockwell,

      Thank you for taking the time to read, reflect & reply 🙂

      Leaders know all about discernment. Leaders in the making will learn of it. You hit the proverbial nail on the head.

      I too wish you the best.

      Kind Regards,

      Jose

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

