Home > Mar '10 Blog > How Do You Stay Motivated?

How Do You Stay Motivated?

That’s a good question. I’d like to start things out with a short story. I remember during my first year living in New York, I was dating a girl who was so dumbfounded by my positivity, that one day she yelled at me saying that no one can always be so positive, and then called me fake! It was shocking to me how people willfully decide to live life choosing not to believe that good things can and will happen to them.

Let me clarify to you that in no way do I dismiss the realities of life. Life is rough, and the two things you’re guaranteed to do in life is die and pay taxes. There are real wars, darkness, and evil in this world. Don’t think for a second that the rich get it easy either. The realities of the world are like facets of a diamond. One facet may be rough, ugly, and unpolished, while another facet is glistening with clarity and brilliance. This is just how life is.

To paint a picture for you. Imagine that you are walking on the path of life that is fairly clear, and somewhat lit, and you just tripped. Immediately after you fall, a new path that is foggy, darker, and even has a type of heavy air to it appears. You stand up from your fall, hurt, disoriented, and confused. You now have the choice after your reality has affected you to either take your path that you are familiar with, or you take the path that looks intimidating, and unfamiliar.

Makes it seem like the dark path is not the one that you should be taking, doesn’t it? Well, you see it was not the dark path that caused you to fall, but it was actually the familiar path where you had tripped; it was the comfortable path that you had fallen. After you arise from your fall, you take a step towards the dark path, and the fog actually starts to rise, the path starts to become visible, and the heaviness of the air lessens.

Use this example for your current life situation(s).  There is no right or wrong path, however, when you apply faith and believe in yourself, and decide in your heart that you want to move forward, a new path reveals itself. It’s not an easier path, but it will be more rewarding so long as you remain faithful to yourself and what’s most important to you.

Respect and accept your emotions. When you’re sad, be sad. When you’re happy, be happy. If you need to cry, do it. Don’t hold in your emotions. Emotions were created to help maintain clarity of your life path. If you deny your emotions, or hold them in, you get distracted, and go off course in your life. This holds the same when you abuse your emotions. There does need to come a point of after grieving to accept reality, and move forward. Not accepting reality, and remaining sad about something that is out of your control is the manipulation of your emotions, to repeat the grieving processes over and over again. How does one stop manipulating their emotions? Take steps on a different path instead of the one that you are comfortable with. Change the scenery in your house. Actually get rid of the things that cause feelings of unhappiness. Take a vacation to a place that you have never been to before, that had crossed your mind. Get a new job. Take up a new hobby. Make new friends. The list honestly is endless, but the steps that need to be taken can only be made by you.

How do I stay motivated? Because I choose to let go of what’s out of my control.

Do you need help taking those steps forward?  Email me, and I can make a suggestion, or guide you to the proper people that can assist you. We can’t do it alone. Everyone needs a support circle.

-III

  1. unclejim
    March 29, 2010 at 9:16 am

    How I stay motivated at age 66 is realizing when I wake up each morning that it is the first day of the rest of my life and I can either be present or absent.
    My first thoughts are to thank God for an other day to serve Him and even though I make plans I ask God to direct my steps.
    I serve as director of a independent Disabled Association and a organization that is in the process of establishing a memorial showing FDR’s ability to be disabled and still lead our great country.
    I also partner with over 100 inner city ministries which serve their communities with a food distribution program by contacting companies who donate food by the trailer load, onced donated I have the ministries come and pick up the food and distribute it to inner city families.
    Oh by the way I am 100% disabled
    The Lord Is my Strength

  2. March 29, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Uncle Jim,

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share with myself, and other readers of your personal motivation. I honestly love hearing of what drives people, as it inspires me to continue on a path of servitude. I’m grateful to know you, and have you as a part of my life. Even though I strive to always ask God of how to guide me, my impetuous ways sometimes gets the best of me. I know that in time, I will walk a more steady and grounded pace. Thank you again for sharing of what keeps you motivated!

  3. June 13, 2010 at 6:05 am

    Hey Jose. Great Blog Posting! You used a great metaphor for describing how the comfortable life can cause you to trip and fall and I’ve found this to be the case in my life as well. Most people strive for comfort and build their whole lives around it! Its Funny how it really can create the opposite of happiness which is complacency and even misery if a person stays stuck. Gotta Break Out Of The CZ ZONE!

    Take Care Buddy!

  4. September 3, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Love this article man. The best way I have heard it desciribed is a quote in the book “The Power of Positive Thinking”. In the book he quotes an older man who is asked how does he stay so positive. The man replied “Well its simple! When I wake up in the morning I have the option of being happy or unhappy. I choose to be happy.” It was reading this that I realized how simple it is. Its simple but not always easy, but life is Life and no matter what happens in it, you can choose how to react and how to feel about it by deciding how to view it. Bad things will hapopen but if you choose to keep moving and be happy about being able to continue and accomplish better things, your positive attitude will attract positive things.

    • September 3, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      Hey Jason!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog! You’re interpretation is spot on! I’m glad to see that you recognize this. I’m looking very forward to seeing on Facebook more of your health progress!!! Keep it up!

  1. September 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

