Home > Aug '10 Blog > Where Have You Been?…The Process It Took To Get Out Of My Depression.

Where Have You Been?…The Process It Took To Get Out Of My Depression.

I always have a bit of sadness in my heart whenever I reach the end of a really good book. When I finish it, I reminisce of the climaxes of the book, the wonderful characters that I got to meet along the way, and most importantly, how the story of the book had affected my life and influenced a new perspective to look at life. Of course not all books are like that, but you know which books that I am referring to. These types of books symbolize life and the struggles that we go through.

I myself have currently reached the end of a particular chapter in my personal life, and I want to share with you about this chapter of my life, in hopes that it will inspire you, and motivate you in your personal life.

About five or six months ago I made it my life mission to make as many new friends as possible. I didn’t care where life would take me, didn’t care how little sleep that I got, nor did I care how much money would be spent. I was determined to meet as many good-hearted people as the world would allow me to. I wanted to meet these people so that they would know that there is one more good-hearted person in this world to add to their circle.

New York gives a double-edged impression. One impression is that it’s full of the energy of driven people, who are here to live a better life and make their dreams come true. The other impression is that you must step on people to get to “the top.” “The Top,” is imaginary…opportunities, and success in this city, (and this world), are endless, so to think that you need the mindset to manipulate, hurt, or destroy people to get somewhere in this life is to have the mindset of a fool.

Some of you may know that I have a beautiful young daughter who is safely loved in Korea with her mother. This was, (and still is), a very hard challenge for me, as I am missing out on my daughter, Lydia, growing up. Understand that I am sharing this with you for two important reasons. One reason is for a healing process for myself, as this is a part of my reality. The second, and most important reason is to share with people who are currently suffering and enduring, so that way they know that IT IS possible to move on, and YOU WILL move on.

I went through a serious depression for about five or six months, (honestly, it was as I was meeting everyone), but during that time frame, I learned many things about myself and about my life, (and about the lives of those beautiful people who I have met). I realized that I could not stay depressed, and I had to take steps to move on and continue with life. Without my faith in God, and the love and support from my family and friends, I would have never made it out of that depression successfully. *”Successfully,” means not giving up…It does not mean “not making mistakes.” (Be prepared to make many mistakes).

This traumatizing event made me realize how truly import a support circle really is. This is what made me decide to go out and make friends. So again this brings me back to where I made it my life mission to make as many new friends as possible. I didn’t care where life would take me, didn’t care how little sleep that I got, nor did I care how much money would be spent. I was determined to meet as many good-hearted people as the world would allow me to.

The people that I have met are truly amazing. And the people who I have known, our love for each other grew ever stronger. The amount of personality, gifts, and talents that they have are so awe-inspiring! Everyone who I knew and had met, the amount of love, loyalty, and compassion that, is in their hearts, motivates me everyday to be just as good of a friend, if not more! I knew that there were good-hearted people in New York… I just had to go out and find them.

In appreciation to all of my family and friends who have helped me get through my trials and tribulations, I have made a slide show, (My heartfelt apologies, but I don’t have photos of all of the friends that I have met along the way). To all of those that are reading this blog, remember, it is love that makes this world go round. It is love for yourself and love for others, is what will help you see through the hardships in life. Go outside your comfort zone and make friends, then welcome them into your family, it will forever change your perspective on life, and you will Never EVER regret it! 🙂

Remember: You are not alone in this world. I am here with you.

-III

*The song that is being played is titled “After Hanabi” (means fireworks in Japanese). This track is by my favorite Japanese hip-hop producer, who had recently passed away this year, Nujabes. RIP

  1. sandrine
    August 30, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Thank you for this inspirational piece this morning III. Love is the only way to live. Love is everywhere when we look for it; in friendships -old and new-, in family -unconditional-, in nature -from under our feet to above our head and in work -because it’s important to care about what we do. Love unifies us and to me is the only thing that makes sense in the world and makes my world go round, as you wrote!
    I am glad to see writing again…

  2. August 30, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Hi Sandrine!

    Thank you for taking the time to read and reply to my blog. I really appreciate you sharing your personal reflection about the importance of love, family, and friends. We must all walk a path as living proof that faith, hope, & love exist, because you cannot have one without the other. They are the Trinity. 🙂

  3. August 30, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I didn’t know you had a blog, Jose. I’m glad you found love and support from people around you to help you through everything. I don’t know you well yet but I’m very happy that you included me in your message of people you are showing this personal post to. You seem like a genuine and compassionate person, and I wish all the best for you. Let’s hang out soon! 🙂

    • August 30, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Hey Jean!

      You may know this, but your brother is one of the very first people that I met! Thank you very much for taking the time to check out my blog. Thank you also for the kind wishes. It is time, that will help us get to know each other more. I look forward to hanging out again! After all, you are my brother, Young Jae’s sister 🙂 I’m gonna check out your blog now!

  4. September 2, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I just wanted too thank you for giving me a little more inspiration everyday! you are a great man and even more an even greater friend! thank you !

    • September 2, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      Hey Nick!

      Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. I’m glad that we’ve met, and get to learn from each other!!! Summer may be over, but we have many adventures of making great friends, and relationships with people!!!

  5. September 17, 2010 at 11:04 am

    this was my first time that i have visited you article and it is awesome ..

    • September 19, 2010 at 11:54 am

      Thank you very for taking the time to read my blog and reply. I hope that it helps you, the way that my experience has helped me. If you know someone that may benefit from this, please share 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment